Planet Golf — 28 July 2016 by GW staff and news services
Golf Bag: PGA screws up pin sheet

SPRINGFIELD, N.J. – Colt Knost loves a good practical joke, but he wasn’t laughing when PGA of America rules officials gave him an incorrect pin sheet before Friday’s second round at Baltusrol, leading to an early bogey and a post-round apology from tournament officials.

Playing in the first group off the 10th tee, Knost and playing partners Jim Summerhays and Yuta Ikeda were stunned to realize the hole was nowhere near where they expected it to be on the 440-yard par 4.

Playing in steady rain, Knost was playing for a left hole location (20 paces from front, four from left edge) only to find the hole was actually cut on the right side (19 paces from the front, five from right edge).

Knost did not notice the difference before hitting his approach shot from 211 yards, which he left short right — a good miss for a left pin but a tough spot for the actual location.

“People are going to say we should be able to tell what side of the green [the flag] was on, but I was 210 yards out and it was raining rather hard,” Knost told Golf Digest. “We just expected the pin to be right. It sucks.”

Knost finished with a 3-over 73, leaving him at 2-over for the tournament. When he walked off the course, he was one stroke off the projected cut line. The cut line moved to 2 over later in the afternoon.

Ikeda also bogeyed the hole, potentially a costly stroke given that he’s in contention after shooting a second-round 67 to leave himself at 3 under going into the weekend. Summerhays, one of the 20 club pros in the field, parred the hole and shot 73 to finish his tournament at 9 over.


Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.