Planet Golf — 02 April 2012 by Bob Sherwin
Masters’ names and numbers


Thursday: ESPN, noon to 4:30 p.m., PT

Friday: ESPN, noon to 4:30 p.m., PT

Saturday: CBS, 12:30 p.m. To 4 p.m., PT

Sunday: CBS, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., PT

Here are the first-round pairings.


1. Masters Tournament Champions (Lifetime)

2. US Open Champions (Honorary, non-competing after 5 years)

3. British Open Champions (Honorary, non-competing after 5 years)

4. PGA Champions (Honorary, non-competing after 5 years)

5. Winners of The Players Championship (Three years)

6. Current US Amateur Champion (Honorary, non-competing after 1 year) and the runner-up to the current US Amateur Champion

7. Current British Amateur Champion (Honorary, non-competing after 1 year)

8. Current Asian Amateur Champion

9. Current US Amateur Public Links Champion

10. Current US Mid-Amateur Champion

11. The first 16 players, including ties, in the previous year’s Masters Tournament

12. The first 8 players, including ties, in the previous year’s US Open Championship

13. The first 4 players, including ties, in the previous year’s British Open Championship

14. The first 4 players, including ties, in the previous year’s PGA Championship

15. The 30 leaders on the Final Official PGA Tour Money List for the previous calendar year

16. Winners of PGA Tour events that award a full-point allocation for the season-ending Tour Championship, from previous Masters to current Masters

17. Those qualifying for the previous year’s season-ending Tour Championship

18. The 50 leaders on the Final Official World Golf Ranking for the previous calendar year

19. The 50 leaders on the Official World Golf Ranking published during the week prior to the current Masters Tournament


Aaron Baddeley, Australia

Sang-moon Bae, Korea

Thomas Bjorn, Denmark

Keegan Bradley, U.S.

Jonathan Byrd, U.S.

Angel Cabrera, Argentina

Patrick Cantlay (a), U.S.

Paul Casey, England

Kevin Chappell, U.S.

K.J. Choi, Korea

Stewart Cink, U.S.

Tim Clark, South Africa

Darren Clarke, Northern Ireland

Fred Couples, U.S.

Ben Crane, U.S.

Ben Crenshaw, U.S.

Jason Day, Australia

Luke Donald, England

Jason Dufner, U.S.

Simon Dyson, England

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Spain

Ross Fisher, England

Rickie Fowler, U.S.

Harrison Frazar, U.S.

Jim Furyk, U.S.

Sergio Garcia, Spain

Robert Garrigus, U.S.

Lucas Glover, U.S.

Bill Haas, U.S.

Anders Hansen, Denmark

Peter Hanson, Sweden

Padraig Harrington, Ireland

Charles Howell III, U.S.

Trevor Immelman, South Africa

Ryo Ishikawa, Japan

Fredrik Jacobson, Sweden

Miguel Angel Jimenez, Spain

Dustin Johnson, U.S.

Zach Johnson, U.S.

Robert Karlsson, Sweden

Martin Kaymer, Germany

Kyung-Tae Kim, Korea

Kelly Kraft (a), U.S.

Matt Kuchar, U.S.

Martin Laird, Scotland

Bernhard Langer, Germany

Paul Lawrie, Scotland

Randal Lewis (a), U.S.

Sandy Lyle, Scotland

Bryden Macpherson (a), Australia

Hunter Mahan, U.S.

Hideki Matsuyama (a), Japan

Graeme McDowell, Northern Ireland

Rory McIlroy, Northern Ireland

Phil Mickelson, U.S.

Corbin Mills (a), U.S.

Larry Mize, U.S.

Edoardo Molinari, Italy

Francesco Molinari, Italy

Kevin Na, U.S.

Sean O’Hair, U.S.

Mark O’Meara, U.S.

Geoff Ogilvy, Australia

Jose Maria Olazabal, Spain

Louis Oosthuizen, South Africa

Ryan Palmer, U.S.

Ian Poulter, England

Alvaro Quiros, Spain

Chez Reavie, U.S.

Justin Rose, England

Rory Sabbatini, South Africa

Charl Schwartzel, South Africa

Adam Scott, Australia

John Senden, Australia

Webb Simpson, U.S.

Vijay Singh, Fiji

Brandt Snedeker, U.S.

Craig Stadler, U.S.

Scott Stallings, U.S.

Kyle Stanley, U.S.

Brendan Steele, U.S.

Henrik Stenson, Sweden

Steve Stricker, U.S.

David Toms. U.S.

Bo Van Pelt, U.S.

Scott Verplank, U.S.

Johnson Wagner, U.S.

Nick Watney, U.S.

Bubba Watson, U.S.

Tom Watson, U.S.

Mike Weir, Canada

Lee Westwood, England

Mark Wilson, U.S.

Gary Woodland, U.S.

Tiger Woods, U.S.

Ian Woosnam, Wales

Y.E. Yang, Korea


Tiger Woods 3.25 to 1

Rory McIlroy 4 to 1

Phil Mickelson 9 to 1

Lee Westwood 14 to 1

Luke Donald 14 to 1

Adam Scott 28 to 1

Charl Schwartzel 30 to 1

Jason Day 33 to 1

Justin Rose 33 to 1

Bubba Watson 40 to 1

Hunter Mahan 40 to 1

Keegan Bradley 40 to 1

Nick Watney 40 to 1

Steve Stricker 40 to 1

Dustin Johnson 45 to 1

Graeme McDowell 50 to 1

Martin Kaymer 50 to 1

Sergio Garcia 50 to 1

Webb Simpson 50 to 1

Matt Kuchar 55 to 1

KJ Choi 60 to 1

Alvaro Quiros 66 to 1

Bill Haas 66 to 1

Brandt Snedeker 66 to 1

Padraig Harrington 66 to 1

Geoff Ogilvy 80 to 1

Jim Furyk 80 to 1

Rickie Fowler 80 to 1

Aaron Baddeley 100 to 1

Bo Van Pelt 100 to 1

Francesco Molinari 100 to 1

Gary Woodland 100 to 1

Ian Poulter 100 to 1

Jason Dufner 100 to 1

Louis Oosthuizen 100 to 1

Paul Casey 100 to 1

Trevor Immelman 100 to 1

Angel Cabrera 125 to 1

Anthony Kim 125 to 1

Ben Crane 125 to 1

Fredrik Jacobson 125 to 1

Martin Laird 125 to 1

Matteo Manassero 125 to 1

Peter Hanson 125 to 1

Ricky Barnes 125 to 1

Robert Karlsson 125 to 1

Rory Sabbatini 125 to 1

Ryo Ishikawa 125 to 1

Sean O’Hair 125 to 1

Tim Clark 125 to 1

Vijay Singh 125 to 1

YE Yang 125 to 1

Zach Johnson 125 to 1

Camilo Villegas 150 to 1

Fred Couples 150 to 1

Henrik Stenson 150 to 1

Jeff Overton 150 to 1

Jhonattan Vegas 150 to 1

Jonathan Byrd 150 to 1

Kyung Tae Kim 150 to 1

Mark Wilson 150 to 1

Miguel Angel Jimenez 150 to 1

Ross Fisher 150 to 1

Stewart Cink 150 to 1

Thomas Bjorn 150 to 1

DA Points 200 to 1

Darren Clarke 200 to 1

Edoardo Molinari 200 to 1

Lucas Glover 200 to 1

Robert Allenby 200 to 1

Robert Garrigus 200 to 1

Ryan Palmer 200 to 1

Stuart Appleby 200 to 1

Anders Hansen 250 to 1

Brendan Steele 250 to 1

Harrison Frazar 250 to 1

Kevin Chappell 300 to 1

Chez Reavie 400 to 1

Scott Stallings 400 to 1

Related Articles


About Author

Bob Sherwin

Bob grew up in Cleveland, an underdog city with perennial underdog teams, and that gave him an appreciation and an affinity for the grinders in golf, guys such as Rocco Mediate, Jhonattan Vegas and star-crossed John Daly. This is the 53rd year for Bob as a sportswriter, the first 34 working for newspapers throughout the west, Tucson (Daily Star), San Francisco (Examiner) and Seattle (Times), and the past 19 years as a freelancer. He has covered just about every sport, including golf tournaments, Tucson Open, Bing Crosby/AT&T Pro-Am, the 1998 PGA Championship, the 2010 U.S. Senior Open, the 2010 U.S. Amateur the 2015 U.S. Open and the annual Champions Tour Boeing Classic. He also writes articles for Cascade Golfer Magazine and Destination Golfer. For most of his 20 years at the Seattle Times his primary beat was the Mariners. He then picked up Washington men's basketball in the winter. He also was the beat writer for the Sonics, including 1996 when they played the Bulls for the NBA title. After a lifetime hacking on public courses, he finally gave in and joined a country club in 2011, Aldarra near Seattle. Despite (or perhaps because) of his 14 handicap, he won the 'Super Senior'' (65 and older) championship in 2017. He has a pair of aces – 37 years apart – and in 2009 came agonizingly close to his ultimate golf goal of scoring in the 70s when he finished with an even 80. He lives in Seattle.

(0) Readers Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.