CHARLOTTE — At least Zac Blair has a sense of humor.
The BYU grad was disqualified on Friday for using a non-conforming club on the fifth hole in the second round of the Wells Fargo Championship.
According to his Twitter feed, Blair missed a putt and hit his putter on his head. He didn’t realize until after he tapped in for par and went to the next hole that the putter had been bent slightly.
Blair found a rules official on the sixth hole and told him what had happened. At that point Blair, who had opened with a 75, was disqualified.
“Going forward I’m going to do my best not to let my emotions get in the way on the golf course, and I’m going to learn from this mishap and move on,” Blair wrote. The hashtag was #GottaDoBetter.
Earlier, though, Blair replied to a PGA Tour Media tweet about the DQ with a GIF of Woody Austin hitting his head with his putter several times at The Presidents Cup.